Szechuan Eggplant

Szechuan food is usually the ones with the little red chile pepper on your Chinese take-out menu. Often this style of food is hot and spicy. This vegetarian recipe does have some heat, but not too much. Come on! Trust me!

Szechuan Eggplant

Ingredients

  • 1 pound Oriental eggplants or other eggplant, peeled
  • 2 tablespoons peanut oil
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes or 1/2 teaspoon hot chili oil
  • 3 green onions, cut into 1-inch pieces
  • 1/4 cup hoisin sauce
  • 1/4 cup vegetable broth
  • toasted sesame seeds (see NOTE)

 

Instructions

Cut eggplants lengthwise into 1/2-inch slices.  Cut each slice into 2 x 1/2-inch strips.

Heat a wok or large skillet over medium high heat.  Add oil and heat until hot.  Add eggplant, garlic, and pepper flakes.  Stir fry until the eggplant is tender and browned, about 7 minutes.

Reduce heat to medium, add onions, hoisin, and broth.  Stir fry about 2 minutes.  Sprinkle with sesame seeds and serve.

Serves 4 to 6.

 

NOTE:  You can toast sesame seeds in a dry skillet over medium heat.  Shake the skillet until the seeds turn golden and begin to pop.  And that’s it!

6 thoughts on “Szechuan Eggplant

  1. Delicious! I had a ‘regular’ eggplant that I didn’t peel. I used the hot chili oil because I have it & used a couple extra scallions because I love them. This was quick, easy, delicious & devoured! Made for Culinary Quest 2014/CCQ.

    Like

  2. Very easy and delicious! I used partially peeled eggplants and crushed red pepper flakes.
    I served this with some gingered chicken and white rice.
    Delicious, we all loved it very muche and we loved the combinatione of eggplants with hoisin sauce!

    Like

  3. Very, very good recipe! Like Elmotoo, I used chili oil. For my personal preference, I upped the garlic and green onion. We only get regular eggplant here, but it worked well – I left it unpeeled because I like the color contrast. Thanks for posting! Made for CQ14.

    Like

  4. This is a really tasty eggplant dish. I used Japanese eggplant as I find them more tender and the skin is not too thick. Made as per the recipe instructions and served this dish along with some Asian chicken thighs. Nancy : )

    Like

Leave a Reply

