Ube Halaya Recipe

 

This is a dessert made from purple yam.  If you cannot find purple yam, you could use ordinary sweet potatoes or white sweet potatoes.  You could use batata which is like a white sweet potato, that would be interesting also.

Ube Halaya Recipe

Serves

4 desserts

Time to Make

  • 12 minutes to prepare
  • 30 minutes to cook

Ingredients

  • 2 cups coconut milk
  • 3/4 cups granulated sugar
  • 1 pound purple yam, grated

Instructions

  1. Bring coconut milk to a boil in a saucepan.  Add the sugar and stir until dissolved.
  2. Stir in the grated yam.  Stir until the mixture becomes thickened.  It will take about 20 to 30 minutes.
  3. Grease a casserole to use as a mold.  Pour the yam mixture in and allow to cool completely.  Serve immediately or cover with plastic wrap and chill in the refrigerator.
4 thoughts on “Ube Halaya Recipe

  1. Made as written except for cutting it in half . We found this to be inedible, the extreme sweetness, and gelatinous texture mixed with the bits of starchy yam were very unpleasant.

    Like

  2. I made this with fresh purple yams, but only used half the coconut milk. Substituted rest with evaporated milk and cut the sugar almost in half. I personally like the texture, but I ran it through the food processor till smooth. I love this in Halo Halo. Thanks for posting!

    Like

  3. I made this with fresh purple yam from the Asian grocery. I only used half of the coconut milk and subbed the rest with evaporated milk, and cut back the sugar by almost half. I personally like the texture, but I did put it through the food processor till smooth. Love this in Halo Halo. Thanks for posting!

    Like

  4. Third time’s the charm, right? Sorry if there are duplicate reviews! I made this with fresh purple yams from my Asian grocer’s. I only used half the coconut milk and subbed evaporated milk for the other half. And, reduced the sugar by almost half. I personally like the texture, but I put it through the food processor till smooth. Love this in Halo Halo! Thanks for posting!

    Like

Leave a Reply

