Red Pepper Sauce (Pimenta Moida)

This sauce is the basis for many Portuguese and Azorean recipes. It is tasty and sweet followed by an intense kick. It stores well in the refrigerator.  It is made with Shepherd peppers.  I know.  I never heard of them either.  You can use red bell peppers.

 

Red Pepper Sauce (Pimenta Moida)

 Serves

Makes about a cup

Time to Make

  • 10 minutes to prepare the peppers
  • 5 minutes to cook.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 pound red chili peppers, washed and chopped
  • 1 tablespoon coarse sea salt
  • 1/2 tablespoon wine vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil

Instructions

  1. In a blender, process the peppers and salt until smooth.
  2. Place the mixture in a saucepan and cook over medium heat for 3 to 4 minutes.  Stir in the vinegar and oil.
  3. Store in a clean jar in the refrigerator.

 

 

5 thoughts on “Red Pepper Sauce (Pimenta Moida)

  1. Pingback: Carne De Porco À Alentejana | Spin the Globe Recipes

  2. Pingback: Cacoila | Spin the Globe Recipes

  3. Pingback: Pork Loin Stuffed with Chouriço | Spin the Globe Recipes

  4. Wow, this is some spicy stuff! Made this as a condiment for Culinary Quest 3, for a couple of recipes that use it. I didn’t make a full recipe, just enough for my needs. I made the mistake of taking a deep whiff while it was cooling – and OMG, this is strong stuff!!! I tasted a little bit, and it is pure heat. Can’t wait to use it in my octopus dish! Thanks for posting!

    Like

  5. I’m with Lori Loucas! I leaned over the blender and it took my breath away. lol. Strong spicy stuff! Sure clears up any sinus issue. I’ve never heard of Shepherds peppers so used some dried Japanese red peppers that I had on hand. I rehydrated them and threw them in the blender. I used this for a recipe calling for this as an ingredient and it really added a lot of flavor. A little bit went a long way. Thanks for sharing this fun recipe, Lucy. Made for CQ3 – Azores. – lazyme

    Like

Leave a Reply

